The life and times of a CF lung transplant patient

Shout out!!!

I wrote this on Facebook last September and I feel like its important and I should share it once more…

 

So I’m sitting here thinking about my life with CF and all the people who have ever told me that I’m strong and brave or even that I’m a hero, I don’t understand why anyone would have said that… as a patient with CF I’ve grown accustomed to all the hospitals and medications… just a way of life for me.
I believe the TRUE CF heroes are our care takers and loved ones. Not enough is said about the sacrifices they make for us. Here they are aware of our illness and the inevitable low points that come with it and yet they are still at our bedside.

This is a shout out to all the nurses who have just sat bedside holding their patients hands as they get yet another IV med

This is a shout out to all the parents who have stayed up all night to make sure their child is comfortable

This is a shout out to all the close friends who have helped give CPT and prayed by our sides

This is a shout out to all the husbands and wives who commit their entire lives to a chronically ill individual

On behalf of all my fibros and cysters i would like to say Thank you, if it wasn’t for all of your support at least half of us would not be here.

2 responses

  1. Beth

    Hi Katie…Donovan’s mom here. Just read that post about CF caregivers and it made me cry. You are so sweet!!! It sure took me back to all those days and nights beside Dono’s bed when he was so sick, and as he recovered from tx. I would never have taken one of those moments or prayers back…as a parent there is nowhere else to be when your child is sick, and I’m sure your mom, dad and other loved ones feel the same, and would have traded places with you in a heart beat, and still would today.

    Thinking of you lots lately…hoping and praying for your second miracle soon! Take care Katie…love your spunk!

    August 31, 2012 at 2:08 am

  2. Nancy Cullity

    I have said these words to you, and maybe it is a lack of understanding or a lack of other words, but meant to be positive. All I know is hearing all you have been through and seeing you act positive or with such conviction has made me realize what an amazing person you truly are and has given me a new outlook on life. My prayers are with you every day. :)

    September 5, 2012 at 8:13 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.